Al Jazira have claimed their first-ever national championship with four rounds to spare following an impressive 4-0 victory at Al Wasl.

The victory saw Al Jazira establish an unassailable 12 point margin over second-placed Bani Yas, but the former have a superior head-to-head record which would be used in the event of a tie.

Unbeaten in 18 starts, Al Jazira created history in becoming the first UAE club to settle the chase for the title with four rounds remaining.

In the match which decided the championship, Al Wasl, who will be coached by Argentinian legend Diego Maradona next season, were 3-0 down by the hour mark, before being reduced to ten men on 71 minutes.

Al Jazira have been arguably the league’s most consistent team in recent years, finishing in the top-half of the league in every season since their promotion in 1997. They have also secured a top-three position in each of the last six seasons and were runners-up in each of the last three editions. They are the first ‘new’ team to engrave their name on the title since Al Wahda, the dethroned champions, won their debut title in 1999.