Australia coach Holger Osieck has selected a 19-man squad for the upcoming international against Paraguay in Sydney.

The squad for the 9 October match includes six A-League-based players in Alex Brosque, Jason Culina, Eugene Galekovic, Matt McKay, Jade North and Michael Thwaite.

Harry Kewell and Josh Kennedy return to the squad for the first time since the 2010 FIFA World Cup™ after injuries prevented them both from taking part in the recent matches against Switzerland and Poland.

"I think I put a good mix of players together," said Osieck. "Experienced players from outside, in particular the big names that people here in Australia would like to see, and a couple of local players from the A-League.

"The rationale for picking a player is performance, not what club he plays for. And having the opportunity in the last two weeks to see them play on that level (in the A-League) and I think after my impression I thought well why not include them into the team."

Australia and Paraguay have met on four occasions with the Socceroos holding the advantage with one win and three draws. The match will be Osieck’s first on Australian soil since being appointed last month.

Australia squad
Eugene Galekovic (Adelaide United), Mark Schwarzer (Fulham/England)

Defenders: David Carney (Blackpool/England), Jon McKain (Al Nasr/Saudi Arabia), Lucas Neill (Galatasaray/Turkey), Jade North (Wellington Phoenix/New Zealand) Michael Thwaite (Gold Coast United), Luke Wilkshire (Dinamo Moscow/Russia)

Midfielders: Tim Cahill (Everton/England) Jason Culina (Gold Coast United), Richard Garcia (Hull City/England), Mile Jedinak (Genclerbirligi/Turkey), Harry Kewell (Galatasaray/Turkey), Matthew McKay (Brisbane Roar), Carl Valeri (Sassuolo/Italy), Dario Vidosic (Nuremberg/Germany)

Forwards: Alex Brosque (Sydney FC), Josh Kennedy (Nagoya Grampus/Japan), Scott McDonald (Middlesbrough/England)