Brazil’s new coach Mano Menezes has selected a young and experimental squad for his first game in charge of the national team, against USA on 10 August. Included in the side are AC Milan ace Alexandre Pato and Santos young gun Neymar.

The game against the Stars and Stripes will be the first for Brazil since former boss Dunga led the South American giants to elimination in the quarter-finals at the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™. Manchester United defender Rafael da Silva and Liverpool midfielder Lucas Leiva are also included in the 24-man squad for the match at the newly rebuilt Meadowlands Stadium in New Jersey.

Menezes included only four players from the Brazilian side that disappointed in the first world finals on African soil: Barcelona defender Daniel Alves, Benfica’s Ramires, AC Milan back Thiago Silva and Santos ace Robinho, who is on loan from Manchester City in the English Premier League.

Usual stars Kaka, Luis Fabiano and goalkeeper Julio Cesar were not included in the list for the match, a replay of the 2009 FIFA Confederations Cup final which Brazil won 3-2.

Menezes, speaking in a Rio media conference, thanked the Brazilian Football Confederation for the "trust" it had placed in him with the appointment. "I know that from this moment I am officially taking up one of the most important positions in the country," he said, speaking in slow, measured tones.

He pledged "loyalty, transparency and honesty" to Brazil fans. Menezes said he would form "a selection able to represent all our ambitions, dreams and desires of Brazilian football."

The squad
Jefferson (Botafogo), Renan (Avai), Victor (Gremio)

Andre Santos (Fenerbahce, Turkey), Daniel Alves (Barcelona, Spain), David Luiz (Benfica, Portugal), Henrique (Racing Santander, Spain), Marcelo (Real Madrid, Spain), Rafael da Silva (Manchester United, England), Rever (Atletico Mineiro), Thiago Silva (AC Milan, Italy)

Midfielders: Carlos Eduardo (Hoffenheim, Germany), Ederson (Lyon, France), Hernanes (Sao Paulo), Jucilei (Corinthians), Lucas Leiva (Liverpool, England), Paulo Henrique Ganso (Santos), Ramires (Benfica, Portugal), Sandro (Internacional)

Forwards: Andre (Santos), Neymar (Santos), Alexandre Pato (AC Milan, Italy), Robinho (Santos), Diego Tardelli (Atletico Mineiro)