Yangon United made club history when they beat Naypyitaw in an eventful YTC Cup final to add to the Myanmar National League title they won last week.

Yangon cruised past Naypyitaw 5-0 in the cup final with Du Du and Charles Obi both scoring doubles.

The club lifted their first Myanmar National League crown with a 2-2 draw against Ayeyarwaddy in their final game of the season on Wednesday 28 September.

The pair effectively played off for the title on the last day of the season with the draw enough for Yangon to maintain a two-point lead, despite their rivals remaining unbeaten throughout the 22-match season.

The championship was Yangon’s first in the four-season history of the league, with the previous three won by Yadanarbon who this year could only manage ninth in the 12-team league.