The FIFA Interactive World Cup (FIWC) is an annual tournament organised by FIFA in cooperation with EA SPORTS™ and Sony PlayStation®. Every year the FIWC sets out on the search to find the best virtual football player in the world.

The FIWC is an official FIFA Tournament and the player crowned champion is considered by FIFA to be football’s virtual world champion. The tournament is hosted on the PlayStation network and can be accessed via EA SPORTS FIFA 14.

The FIFA Interactive World Cup has held a place in the Guinness Book of Records since 2010 as the largest gaming tournament in the world.

Important information at a glance

First FIWC: 2004

Current FIWC edition: FIFA Interactive World Cup 2014 (FIWC14)

Participation requirements for FIWC14:  PlayStation®3 and  EA SPORTS™ FIFA 14

Current FIWC Champion: August Rosenmeier (Denmark)

Grand Prize: Invitation to FIFA Ballon d’Or and USD 20,000 in prize money.

Number of participants in 2013: 2,500,000 players

Grand Final places for FIWC14: 20

List of FIWC champions

  • 2014: August Rosenmeier (Denmark)
  • 2013: Bruce Grannec (France) 
  • 2012: Alfonso Ramos (Spain)
  • 2011: Francisco Cruz (Portugal)
  • 2010: Nenad Stojkovic (USA)
  • 2009: Bruce Grannec (France)
  • 2008: Alfonso Ramos (Spain)
  • 2006: Andries Smit (Netherlands)
  • 2005: Chris Bullard (United Kingdom)
  • 2004: Thiago Carrico de Azevedo (Brazil)

Qualification for the FIWC14 Grand Final

To submit requests for further information, please use the Contact Form.

  • FIWC13 champion (automatic qualification for FIWC14)
  • Six Online Qualification Seasons (18 seats)
  • Host nation qualification event (1 seat)