Costa Rica

The past
Costa Rica first appeared at a FIFA Futsal World Cup at the 1992 edition in Hong Kong, where three straight defeats against Belgium (6-2), Brazil (15-1) and Australia (8-6) and a goal difference of 9-29 spelled a premature exit for the Central Americans. Los Ticos claimed their first victory at the tournament in Guatemala eight years later, but ultimately their 6-2 success against Australia was not enough to see them progress beyond the first round following defeats to Russia and Croatia.

The present
At the recent CONCACAF Championship in Guatemala, Costa Rica celebrated their second continental title having won the competition for the first time 12 years earlier. Diego Solis' side triumphed 3-2 in the final against the host nation, thanks in large part to the heroics of goalkeeper Jairo Jose Toruno.

The future
Costa Rica will travel to the FIFA Futsal World Cup 2012 in Thailand full of confidence as winners of the CONCACAF Championship. Striker Jorge Arias, who was voted the tournament's best player, along with the talented Diego Andres Zuniga and goalkeeper Toruno, will be hoping to translate their performances onto the biggest stage in November. "We dedicate this qualification to all of Costa Rica, our families and all the coaches who have supported us," said Michael Cordoba, who scored the opener against St. Kitts and Nevis. "It's a pleasure to be a part of this group."

Facts and figures
Key players
Jorge Arias, Jairo Jose Toruno, Diego Andres Zuniga, Luis Alejandro Paniagua

Qualification in numbers
After a stuttering start against Mexico (4-4), Costa Rica claimed the upper hand in their group with a 2-1 win against favourites Cuba before a 7-1 thrashing of St. Kitts and Nevis ensured their qualification for the finals. Following a 4-1 semi-final success against Panama, Los Ticos then surprised hosts Guatemala with a 3-2 victory in the final to claim their first CONCACAF Championship crown since 2000.

The stat
Costa Rica had the best defensive record of all the teams to have qualified from CONCACAF with just nine goals conceded in five games. Goalkeeper Toruno was duly handed the award for the tournament's best goalkeeper.