The top five finishers at the 2012 AFC Futsal Championship Iran, Thailand, Japan, Australia and Kuwait qualified for the FIFA Futsal World Cup 2012.

* Thailand qualified for the FIFA Futsal World Cup 2012 automatically as hosts.


Egypt, Morocco and Libya qualified from Africa for the FIFA Futsal World Cup 2012 after winning their respective third-round ties.

1st leg:
Libya - South Africa 4-0
Egypt - Nigeria 8-2
Mozambique - Morocco 2-6

2nd leg:
South Africa - Libya 4-6
Morocco - Mozambique 1-4
Nigeria - Egypt match cancelled*

*Nigeria withdrew


Europe’s first qualifying round took place in October 2011, with the main round (which consisted of mini-tournaments involving seven groups of four) following in December. After the UEFA Futsal EURO, which took place in Croatia between 31 January and 11 February 2012 - won by Spain - seven home-and-away play-offs involving the 14 teams below took place between 25-28 March and 8-11 April 2012.

The qualifiers are as follows (aggregate scores):
Norway 0–7 Italy
Slovenia 3–4 Czech Republic
Azerbaijan 4–5 Russia
Slovakia 0–12 Spain
Hungary 2–6 Serbia
Belarus 2–11 Portugal
Romania 4–5 Ukraine

The winners, in bold, of these two-legged ties qualify for the FIFA Futsal World Cup Thailand 2012.


Eight teams participated in the CONCACAF Futsal Championship between 2 and 8 July at the Domo Polideportivo in Guatemala City, Guatemala: the hosts, USA, Panama, Canada, Cuba, Mexico, Costa Rica and St. Kitts and Nevis.

The semi-finalists - Costa Rica, Guatemala, Mexico and Panama - secured their region's allocated berths at the FIFA Futsal World Cup Thailand 2012.

Costa Rica ultimately came out on top at the CONCACAF event, edging their Gautemalan hosts 3-2 in a keenly-contested final. Panama claimed third with a 6-4 victory over Mexico.


OFC’s preliminary competiton was played from 16 to 20 May 2011 at the Vodafone Arena in Fiji, with the Solomon Islands securing the continent’s solitary slot at Thailand 2012.

Participating teams: Fiji, Kiribati, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Solomon Islands, Tahiti, Tuvalu, Vanuatu.


The South American qualifying competition took place between 15 and 22 April 2012 in Brazil.

The teams involved were Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Peru, Bolivia, Uruguay, Paraguay, Colombia, Venezuela and Ecuador.

The four semi-finalists - Argentina, Brazil, Colombia and Paraguay - qualified for the FIFA Futsal World Cup 2012.

Argentina went on to win the title, beating Paraguay - surprise semi-final winners over Brazil - in a tight final. The Brazilians themselves bounced back to beat Colombia 5-1 in the third-place play-off.

Host Country

Thailand's national futsal team qualified automatically for the FIFA Futsal World Cup 2012 as hosts.