A special centenary edition of the Copa America, the South American football nations championship, will be held in the United States in 2016, officials of North and South American football announced.

The Copa America Centenario will run from 3 to 26 June in 2016 and will feature ten nations from South America and six from North and Central America and the Caribbean, officials of CONMEBOL and CONCACAF said in Miami.

A Copa America in North America had been rumoured for months to be in the works, but for now officials say it's a one-off in honor of the 100th anniversary of the tournament first held in 1916. Normally held every four years, the tournament usually features ten South American teams and two guest teams from other regions. Chile hosts the next edition in 2015.

Uruguay's 15 tournament titles are the record, set with their victory in 2011. Argentina have won it 14 times, but haven't triumphed since 1993 while Brazil's eight titles include four of the last six.

The six teams from CONCACAF to compete in the tournament will be the United States, Mexico, the champion of the 2014 Caribbean Cup, the champion of the 2014 Copa Centroamericana (also to be held in the United States) and two teams determined by a play-off among the top four non-qualified teams at the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup.