F-MARCOver the past five years the reported incidence of concussion has seen an alarming increase. To combat this, the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) in conjunction with FIFA, F-MARC (the FIFA Medical Assessment and Research Centre) and the International Olympic Committee (IOC) are addressing this issue by organising an International Symposium on Concussion in Sport.

The two-day symposium will take place on 2-3 November 2001 at the Marriott Hotel in Vienna (Austria).

**Contact information:** Darlene Scheurich Medical Symposium Coordinator International Ice Hockey Federation Parkring 11 Zurich, Switzerland Telephone: +41-1/289 8614 Telefax: +41-1/289 8629 E-mail: scheurich@iihf.com **Hotel registration and flight information:** Agrar Reisen René Duss Telefax: +41-1/360 4619 E-mail: rduss@Agrar-reisen.ch **Registration fees:** Registration fees include all symposium lectures, coffee breaks, lunches and access to all poster and abstract presentations. • CHF 400 on or before 15 June 2001 • CHF 500 after 15 June 2001

The conference will present scientific information on epidemiology, clinical science, equipment issues, long-term effects and legal aspects plus a scientific program presenting new research on concussion and head injuries and their management and prevention.

The intention is to bring forward current knowledge in conjunction with new research in order to begin to formulate specific initiatives to fight this evolving problem.

Panel discussions will conclude the symposium providing recommendations to address this issue.

The goal of any sporting organization is to provide a safe and healthy environment in which to develop and grow the sport for the benefit of the athletes and participants worldwide. To do this, a proactive approach to the issue of concussion is needed.

The symposium is under the patronage of Dr René Fasel, IIHF President and IOC Member, Joseph S. Blatter, FIFA President and IOC Member and Prince Alexandre de Merode, Chairman of the IOC Medical Commission and IOC Member.

The Scientific Committee is composed of the following personalities:

  • Dr Mark Aubry, chairman of the Sports Medical Committee IIHFProf Jiri Dvorak, member of the FIFA Sports Medical CommitteeDr Patrick Schamasch, IOCDr Karen JohnstonDr Paul McCroryDr Willem MeeuwisseDr Beat Villiger