FIFA Confederations Cup history
Though they have never previously taken part in the Confederations Cup, Russia are regular participants at the World Cup and UEFA EURO. Since the collapse of the Soviet Union, the Russian national team have taken part in three World Cups – in 1994, 2002 and 2014 – though they failed to make it past the group stage on each occasion. They have enjoyed more recent success at the EURO, however, when reaching the semi-finals in 2008 under Guus Hiddink. In the guise of the former Soviet Union, highlights on the international stage included a fourth-place finish at the 1966 World Cup and victory at the 1960 European Championship.

The road to Russia 2017
Qualifying automatically as competition hosts, Russia were the first confirmed participants for the Confederations Cup 2017. The tournament will be seen as the national side’s last major test prior to hosting the 2018 World Cup, as the team will have no other competitive outings after EURO 2016.

The coach
Stanislav Cherchesov took the reins in August 2016 after Leonid Slutsky left following the UEFA EURO 2016 finals.

Key players
Alexander Kokorin (striker), Igor Akinfeev (goalkeeper) and Denis Cheryshev (winger). 

The stat
2 - The number of times the hosts have won the Confederations Cup, with Mexico beating Brazil 4-3 in the final in Mexico City in 1999 and Brazil overwhelming 2010 world champions Spain 3-0 at the Maracana in 2013. Russia will be hoping to follow in the footsteps of El Tri and A Seleção come 2017.