The first FIFA Confederations Cup for the King Fahd Trophy will be played in Saudi Arabia in December 1997.

The FIFA Organising Committee for this new event decided at its meeting in Zurich on July 2, 1996, to hold the eight-team tournament in Riyadh from Friday December 12 to Sunday December 21, 1997.

The new European champions, Germany, have confirmed their readiness to compete in the tournament. Also taking part will be:

  • Uruguay (South American champions 1995)
  • South Africa (African champions 1996)
  • Mexico (CONCACAF Gold Cup winners 1996)
  • the winners of the 1996 Asian Cup in the United Arab Emirates in December 1996, or the runners-up if Saudi Arabia win the Cup
  • Australia or Tahiti as finalists of the Oceania Nations Cup 1996
  • Saudi Arabia as hosts
  • Brazil as World Champions 1994,

The draw for the 1997 FIFA Confederations Cup will divide the eight teams into two groups of four and will be held in Saudi Arabia next year. The top two teams of each group will proceed to the semi-finals.

The FIFA Committee received a report from the Saudi Arabian Organising Committee conforming all required arrangements for the competition. Saudi Arabia has twice staged the Intercontinental Cup, which has now been re-named the Confederations Cup and its organisation taken under the responsibility of FIFA.