Seedings announced for EURO 2012

England are in the second group of seeds for the UEFA EURO 2012 finals draw, UEFA confirmed today.

Fabio Capello's men are alongside UEFA EURO 2008 runners-up Germany, 2006 FIFA World Cup winners Italy and Russia in the second pot.

Reigning world and European champions Netherlands are in the top group of seeds, alongside 2010 FIFA World Cup™ finalists Holland plus co-hosts Poland and Ukraine, who have already been allocated to Groups A and D respectively.

The Republic of Ireland, whose qualification for the finals was confirmed last night, are in the fourth group of seeds alongside Denmark, the Czech Republic and France. That means they cannot face the French, who knocked them out in play-off for South Africa 2010 two years ago.

The draw for the finals will be made in Kiev on 2 December.

Seedings for UEFA 2012

Pot 1: Spain, Holland, Poland*, Ukraine*.
Pot 2: Germany, Italy, England, Russia.
Pot 3: Croatia, Greece, Portugal, Sweden.
Pot 4: Denmark, France, Czech Republic, Republic of Ireland
* Poland already allocated to Group A, Ukraine already allocated to Group D.