• Le Chili découvre la Coupe des Confédérations, le Cameroun en est à sa troisième participation
  • La Roja doit surmonter un coup dur avec la blessure de son gardien Claudio Bravo
  • Hugo Broos fait confiance à l'effectif champion d'Afrique

Le grand moment est arrivé pour les uns, et revenu pour les autres. Le Chili, qui n’avait jamais remporté la Copa América avant de s’adjuger les deux dernières éditions, découvre la Coupe des Confédérations de la FIFA. Le Cameroun pour sa part s’y présente pour la troisième fois, la première depuis 2003. Pourtant, ce n’est pas le plus expérimenté qui fait figure de favori...

Suivre le match 
Live Blog en temps réel | Coupe des Confédérations sur Twitter | Coupe des Confédérations sur FB | Coupe des Confédérations sur IG

Ce qu’il faut savoir 
Avec l’Allemagne dans leur groupe, les deux équipes s’imaginaient lutter pour la deuxième place. Mais les champions du monde ayant laissé leurs joueurs vedettes à la maison, voilà le Chili qui se retrouve candidat à la victoire finale. La blessure du gardien Claudio Bravo est certes un coup dur, mais avec Eduardo Vargas qui a retrouvé le chemin des filets, et Alexis Sanchez qui n’a besoin que d’un but pour devenir le meilleur buteur historique de la sélection, la Roja a les armes pour assumer son statut.

Les Lions indomptables sont dans la position inverse : celle du Petit Poucet dont on n’attend pas grand-chose. Un peu comme lors de la Coupe d’Afrique des Nations de la CAF 2017, où la Côte d’Ivoire, le Sénégal, l’Egypte ou le Ghana faisaient figure de favoris, alors qu’on promettait le pire à une sélection camerounaise rajeunie et orpheline de Samuel Eto’o. Résultat ? Une cinquième couronne continentale et une présence à Russie 2017.

Analyse du reporter FIFA.com 
Pascal de Miramon, avec le Cameroun
Deuxième équipe la plus jeune du tournoi après l’Allemagne, le Cameroun ne part pas favori face aux vieux briscards du Chili. Le dernier match de préparation contre la Colombie (défaite 4:0) pourrait également apparaître comme un test manqué face à une équipe sud-américaine, mais n’oublions pas qu’Hugo Broos avait largement fait tourner son effectif à cette occasion. Face à la Roja, le technicien belge devrait cette fois aligner le onze qui a fait ses preuves ces derniers mois.

Diego Zandrino, avec le Chili 
Son statut de double champion d’Amérique du Sud fait du Chili l’un des prétendants au titre. Il doit le confirmer dès son premier match contre le Cameroun, et ce malgré l’absence de Claudio Bravo, capitaine et joueur-clé qui n’a manqué aucun match des deux dernières Coupes du Monde et des quatre dernières Copas América. Au niveau collectif et individuel, la Roja doit être capable de résoudre chaque problème que lui posera le Cameroun. 

Compositions d’équipes probables 
Cameroun : Fabrice Ondoa ; Collins Fai, Adolphe Teikeu, Michael Ngadeu Ngadjui, Jonathan Ngwem ; Arnaud Djoum, Sébastien Siani ; Jacques Zoua, Benjamin Moukandjo, Christian Bassogog, Vincent Aboubakar. 

Chili : Johnny Herrera ;  Mauricio Isla, Gary Medel, Gonzalo Jara, Jean Beausejour ; Arturo Vidal, Marcelo Díaz, Charles Aranguiz ; Jose Fuenzalida, Eduardo Vargas, Alexis Sánchez.

Où voir les matches ?

• Chile making Confederations Cup debut, Cameroon their third appearance
  • Keeper Claudio Bravo out with injury, a major blow for La Roja
  • Cameroon coach Hugo Broos confident of his side’s chances 

It is a whole new experience for some and a return to familiar surroundings for others. After lifting their first major trophies with back-to-back Copa America wins, Chile are stepping out at the FIFA Confederations Cup for the first time, while Cameroon are taking part in their third edition and first since 2003. On this occasion, however, it is the less experienced side that will start out as favourites to collect the three points.

Follow the match
Live Blog updating now | FCC on Twitter | FCC on FB | FCC on IG

What you need to know
With Germany looming large in their group, both sides could have been forgiven for thinking that they will be fighting it out for second place. The reigning world champions have left their star performers at home, however, which means Chile have been widely tipped to lift the trophy. Though Claudio Bravo’s absence through injury is a major blow to Roja hopes, they do have the players to back up that billing, with Eduardo Vargas back in among the goals and Alexis Sanchez is just one strike away from becoming Chile’s all-time leading goalscorer.

The Indomitable Lions are in a contrasting position, ranked as underdogs of whom little is expected. It is a situation not dissimilar to the one they found themselves in at the 2017 CAF Africa Cup of Nations, where Côte d’Ivoire, Senegal, Egypt and Ghana were the sides tipped to go all the way and a new-look Cameroon side were written off as no-hopers. Proving the pundits wrong, the Indomitable Lions promptly went and won a fifth continental crown and with it a place at Russia 2017.

FIFA.com team reporter analysis
Pascal de Miramon, with Cameroon
The second-youngest side in the competition after Germany, Cameroon will start out as second favourites against Chile’s seasoned hands. Though the 4-0 defeat to Colombia in their final warm-up match hardly augurs well for their chances against another South American outfit, the fact is that their Belgian coach Hugo Broos rotated his side for that match. Come Sunday, he will be lining up with the players that have served him so well in recent months.

Diego Zandrino, with Chile
As reigning two-time Copa America champions, Chile are definite contenders for the title, a status they will look to confirm in their opening match against Cameroon. They will have to do so without team captain and key asset Claudio Bravo, who did not miss a match at the last two FIFA World Cup™ finals or the last four Copa America competitions. Despite his absence, La Roja look to have the resources to overcome any problems Cameroon may pose them on an individual and collective level. 

Possible line-up 
Cameroon: Fabrice Ondoa; Collins Fai, Adolphe Teikeu, Michael Ngadeu Ngadjui, Jonathan Ngwem; Arnaud Djoum, Sebastien Siani; Jacques Zoua, Benjamin Moukandjo, Christian Bassogog, Vincent Aboubakar. 

Chile: Johnny Herrera; Mauricio Isla, Gary Medel, Gonzalo Jara, Jean Beausejour; Arturo Vidal, Marcelo Diaz, Charles Aranguiz; Jose Fuenzalida, Eduardo Vargas, Alexis Sanchez.

Where to watch the matches?