Five-star Monterrey end on high
© Getty Images

CF Monterrey finished their FIFA Club World Cup Morocco 2013 journey on a high after defeating CAF Champions Al Ahly SC 5-1 at Marrakech Stadium to claim fifth place. 

The match was the first time in Club World Cup history that two teams faced each other for a second time as both sides met in Japan last year. 

A bright start from Al Ahly was immediately countered when Monterrey's Efrain Juarez found space on the right wing to cross to Humberto Suazo who then slotted a through pass to Neri Cardozo who finished coolly past Al Ahly goalkeeper Sherif Ekramy. 

The Egyptians would need only five minutes to respond. Emad Meteab brought his side level after controlling left-back Ahmed Kenawi's chipped ball and nutmegging Monterrey goalkeeper Juan de Dios Ibarra with his left-footed shot from a narrow angle. 

Monterrey won the 2012 match for third place against their Egyptian counterparts 2-0, thanks to goals by Jesus Manuel Ruiz Corona and Cesar Delgado

Delgado came back to haunt Al Ahly in the 22nd minute when he finished his chance from a Cardozo pass leaving him one-on-one with Ekramy. The Argentinian made no mistake to put Monterrey ahead 2-1, making him the competition's joint all-time top scorer (along with Mohamed Aboutrika, Denilson and Lionel Messi – all on four goals).

Al Ahly fell further behind just five minutes later when Leobardo Lopez connected from a corner kick, shooting from 14 metres. Lopez's shot proved too strong for Ekramy who let the ball slip beneath his body and into the net. 

The Mexican side continued to pile the pressure on Al Ahly's goal in the 29th minute when Suazo launched inside the penalty area, chipped an onrushing Ekramy only for his shot to hit the crossbar.

Monterrey would eventually be rewarded for their bright attacking play when Al Ahly veteran Wael Gomaa brought down Lopez in the penalty area. 

Chile international Suazo converted the resulting penalty, putting Monterrey in a commanding 4-1 lead and drawing an eventful half to a close. 

Delgado would go on to make history in the 65th minute when he finished off a delicate, lobbed through ball from Suazo to become the tournament's all-time leading scorer.

The Mexican representatives finish fifth for the second time in their Club World Cup history after securing the same fate in 2011.