رغم صغر حجم اليابان التي تحتل المرتبة رقم 62 بين دول العالم من حيث المساحة، إلا أن أثرها وصل إلى كل جانب من جنبات العالم. فاليابان هي مسقط رأس شركات عالمية مثل سوني وتويوتا وميتسوبيشي وهي تواصل تبوؤها لريادة العالم في مجال التكنولوجيا منذ سنوات مما ساعد الدولة الواقعة في شرق آسيا في بناء ثالث أكبر اقتصاد في العالم واحتلال المركز العاشر من حيث السكان مدعومة بالتطور وإعادة البناء في أعقاب الحرب العالمية الثانية.

يشار إلى اليابان بأرض الشمس المشرقة، وتأخذ هذه البلد التي طالما اعتقد أنها تتكون من جزيرة مفردة شكل أرخبيل يضم 6,852 جزيرة ومع ذلك يعيش 97 بالمائة من سكانها في أكبر أربع مناطق وهي هوكايدو في الشمال وكيوشو وشيكوكو في الجنوب وهنوشو المركزية التي يقطن بها أغلب سكان اليابان البالغ عددهم 126 مليون نسمة.

ورغم أن اليابان تشتهر بجبل فوجي الذي يظهر في أفق طوكيو، إلا أن لها جذور تاريخية متعمقة لا تقتصر على الساموراي ومصارعة السومو والسوشي لا سيما حين يتعلق الأمر بالرياضة.

كرة القدم في اليابان
تواصل كأس العالم للأندية FIFA تواجدها في أرض الشمس المشرقة للمرة الثامنة، حيث سبق لها وأن استضافت البطولة من الثانية وحتى الخامسة في الفترة ما بين 2005 إلى 2008. وبعدما استضافت الإمارات العربية المتحدة نسختي 2009 و2010، عادت لترحب بالعالم في فترتين أخريين، فقد فتحت ذراعيها مجدداً سنتي 2011 و2012 ثم عادت لتستضيف الحدث الكبير في سنة 2015 وهذا العام 2016 .

وقد حققت أندية أوراوا ريد دياموندز وجامبا أوساكا وسانفريتشي هيروشيما باحتلالهما المركز الثالث في نسخ 2007 و2008 و2015 على التوالي أفضل نتائج للأندية اليابانية في البطولة لكن تجدر الإشارة إلى أن البلد المنظم يمتلك باعا مع المسابقات الدولية الأخرى. فقد استضافت اليابان برفقة كوريا الجنوبية كأس العالم 2002 FIFA حيث وصلت كتيبة الساموراي لدور الستة عشر في ثاني ظهور لها في المحفل العالمي عقب ظهور محبط في نهائيات فرنسا 1998.

التاريخ
بحلول القرن التاسع، بدأ الساموراي وهي إحدى رتب المحاربين في تهديد حكم الإمبراطور في اليابان. ونجح القادة العسكريون، الملقبون بالشوغون، بالاستيلاء على الحكومة من كاماكورا (طوكيو لاحقًا)، بينما بقي الإمبراطور بعد أن جُرّد من سلطات كثيرة في كيوتو. وبرفض التدخل الأجنبي والتجارة الخارجية والمسيحية كبديل لديانة الشينتو التقليدية، استمر النظام الإقطاعي حتى أواخر القرن التاسع عشر. وفي 1868، حل الإمبراطور ميجي محل آخر حاكم عسكري، يوشينوبو توكواجاو، وبدأت عملية التأثر بالحضارة الغربية.

Despite its small size - it is after all only the 62nd largest country in the world - Japan has undeniably had an everlasting impact on nearly every corner of the planet. Home to worldwide companies such as SONY, Toyota and Mitsubishi, the small nation has been a leader in the world of technological innovation for years, which has helped spur the east Asian country to create the globe’s third largest economy and the tenth largest population, fueled mostly by post-World War II development and reconstruction.

Frequently referred to as The Land of the Rising Sun, the commonly thought singular island nation is actually an archipelago consisting of 6,852 islands, though 97 per cent of the nation lives on the four largest landmasses.  Hokkaido to the north, Kyushu and Shikoku to the south and central Honshu house the vast majority of Japan’s 126 million residents.

Perhaps known best for Mount Fuji’s staggering appearance in the Tokyo skyline, Japan is a country steeped in history that brings much more than just the samurai, Sumo wrestling and sushi to the table, especially when it comes to sport.

Football in Japan
The FIFA Club World Cup is returning to The Land of the Rising Sun in 2015 for the seventh time, after taking a two-year hiatus when the competition was held in Morocco in 2013 and 2014. Japan hosted the tournament in 2011 and 2012 after it had welcomed teams from around the world for the second through fifth edition of the competition from 2005 to 2008. 

Urawa Red Diamonds and Gamba Osaka, who placed third in 2007 and 2008 respectively, are Japan’s top finishers in the tournament, but the 2015 hosts have quite the pedigree in other international competitions as well. Japan recently hosted the FIFA World Cup alongside Korea Republic in 2002 where they reached the Round of 16 in only their second appearance at the world finals after a disappointing showing during France 1998.

History
By the ninth centry, the samurai, a warrior class, had begun to threaten the hegemony of the emperors' rule in Japan. Their military leaders, shoguns, effectively took over the country's government from Kamakura (later Tokyo), while the emperor, shorn of much power, remained in Kyoto. Rejecting foreign influence, trade and Christianity in preference for the traditional Shinto religion, this feudal society persisted until the late 19th Century. In 1868 the emperor Meiji replaced the last shogun, Yoshinobu Tokugawa, and westernisation began.