يوكوهاما هي ثاني أكبر مدن اليابان ويبلغ عدد سكانها 3.4 مليون نسمة وقد شهدت طفرة كبيرة خلال القرن الماضي حيث تحولت من مجرد ميناء صغير ومجموعة من المنازل لتصبح مركزًا تجاريًا رئيسيًا. ورغم أنها تبعد نصف ساعة من وسط مدينة طوكيو، بنت المدينة مناخها وشكلها الفريد الذي يختلف كثيرًا عن العاصمة اليابانية.

لطالما ارتبط الأجانب بيوكوهاما منذ نهاية حقبة حكم شوغان (1603-1867) وفي 1895 أصبحت قرية الصيد من أول يفتح أبوابه للتجارة الخارجية. ومنذ ذلك الوقت، توسعت المدينة بمعدل مذهل مقارنة بحجمها الأصلي حيث تمثل الآن، برفقة طوكيو، أكبر اتساع حضري في العالم. ونظرًا لما تضمه من مباني على الطراز الغربي وأبراج عملاقة وأرض معارض متطورة بجانب أحد أكبر الأحياء الصينية على وجه الأرض، فهي بلا شك مدينة فريدة.

وإذا لم تكن واجهتها المميزة كافية لجذب الزوار، فهي تضم عددًا كبيرًا من المتاحف بفضل ما شهدته من تأثيرات خارجية في تاريخها، كما توفر خيارات مأكولات متنوعة كافية لجذب أغلب الأذواق. ورغم أن المدينة لا تضم سوى القليل من المعالم التاريخية، إلا أن كاماكورا، عاصمة اليابان في القرن الثاني عشر، تبعد عنها مسافة 15 كيلومترًا.

Japan's second largest city with a population of 3.4m, Yokohama has evolved in the past century from a tiny port of a few houses to become a major business and commercial centre. Although just half an hour from downtown Tokyo, the city has built its own unique look and atmosphere far removed from that of the Japanese capital.

Foreigners have very much been associated with Yokohama since the end of the Edo shogunate (1603-1867) and in 1859 the fishing village became one of the first to open its doors to outside trade. Since then it has grown at a tremendous rate to its present size, which, along with Tokyo, represents the largest urban sprawl in the world. With its western-style houses, giant towers, futuristic fairground and one of the planet's largest Chinatowns, it is a city like few others.

If its peculiar face were not enough to tempt visitors, Yokohama boasts plenty of museums and, thanks to its foreign influence, has a choice of food to entice most people's thoughts. While there is little history to speak off in the city itself, Kamakura, Japan's capital in the 12th Century, lies relatively unspoilt 15 kilometres away.