C'était hier...
33 titres de champion d’Espagne - un record -, 19 Coupes du Roi, 3 Coupes Intercontinentales, 2 Coupes du Monde des Clubs de la FIFA et, suprême motif d’orgueil, 12 Coupes d’Europe. Mais la grandeur du Real Madrid ne se mesure pas seulement à son palmarès. La Casa Blanca a aussi bâti sa légende sur les actions mémorables, les remontées inespérées et les duels épiques livrés par les immenses joueurs qui ont porté la tunique merengue depuis 1902, année de la fondation du club.

Aujourd’hui
Zinedine Zidane continue son parcours sans faute pour sa première saison complète sur le banc madrilène. En 2016, six mois après avoir été catapulté entraîneur en cours de saison, il donnait au club sa onzième Coupe d’Europe puis terminait l’année en remportant la Supercoupe d’Europe et la Coupe du Monde des Clubs au Japon. En 2017, il a aidé le Real à enlever son premier titre de champion d’Espagne depuis 2012 et réussi un exploit inédit dans l’histoire de la Ligue des champions de l’UEFA : défendre son titre. Zizou n’a eu besoin que de 20 matches, record absolu, pour gagner deux fois la prestigieuse compétition européenne. La capacité de Zidane à bien gérer son effectif pléthorique, en mettant en place des rotations pour faire respirer ses cadres, a permis à l’équipe d’aborder la fin de la saison dans les meilleures conditions.

Et demain ?
Après ce nouveau sacre européen, le Real Madrid a la possibilité de boucler l’année avec la Coupe du Monde des Clubs. À noter que le Real pourrait devenir la première équipe à remporter le trophée deux fois de suite. En cas de victoire aux Émirats Arabes Unis, la Casa Blanca égalerait au passage le record de trois Coupes du Monde des Clubs détenu par son rival, le FC Barcelone. Un objectif à la hauteur de ce club dont l’ambition est de tout gagner.

La boîte à infos

Stars du passé
Alfredo Di Stefano, Ferenc Puskás, Ricardo Zamora, Francisco Gento, Hugo Sánchez, Juan Gómez, Jorge Valdano, Emilio Butragueño, Míchel, Iván Zamorano, Raúl, Ronaldo, David Beckham, Zinedine Zidane, Iker Casillas.

Stars actuelles
Sergio Ramos, Luka Modric, Toni Kroos, Isco, Gareth Bale, Cristiano Ronaldo, Karim Benzema.

La qualification en chiffres
Madrid est monté en régime progressivement dans cette compétition. Le Real n’a terminé que deuxième du Groupe F en phase de groupes avec trois nuls (deux face au Borussia Dortmund et un contre le Legia Varsovie), avant de se montrer intraitable en seconde phase. En huitième de finale, le Real a infligé deux défaites 3:1 à Naples. Il a ensuite battu le Bayern Munich à deux reprises (6:3 en cumulé), avant de dominer l’Atlético de Madrid 3:0 en demi-finale aller, essuyant au match retour son unique défaite de la compétition (1:2). À Cardiff, les protégés de Zizou ont fait exploser la défense de la Juventus, qui a encaissé plus de buts en une soirée (4) que dans tout le reste du tournoi (3). Après l’ouverture du score de Cristiano Ronaldo et l’égalisation fantastique de Mario Mandzukic, la seconde période a tourné à la démonstration pour le Real, avec des réalisations signées Casemiro, Ronaldo et Marco Asensio (4:1).

La stat
12 - Coupes d’Europe. Aucune équipe n’a remporté autant de fois la C1. Le Real possède désormais 5 titres d’avance sur son plus proche poursuivant, l’AC Milan.

The past
Real Madrid may have won 33 Liga titles (more than any other Spanish club), 19 Copa del Rey titles, 3 Intercontinental Cups, 2 FIFA Club World Cups, and – to their fans’ pride and joy – 12 European Cup/UEFA Champions League titles, but the club’s greatness is only partly explained by the large number of resplendent trophies in their cabinet. For a complete picture of their glorious 115-year history, one must add unforgettable goals and play, mythical comebacks and legendary matches, featuring some of the most talented footballers the world has ever seen.

The present
In just his second season (and first full campaign) at the helm of Los Blancos, Zinedine Zidane has continued to make his mark on the team. While in 2016, after only six months in the hotseat, he guided his charges to an 11th European crown and capped off the year with victories in the UEFA Super Cup in Norway and the Club World Cup in Japan, in 2017 he steered them to their first Liga triumph in five seasons and helped them become the first team to claim back-to-back Champions League titles. In fact, it took a mere 20 European matches for Zidane to capture two Champions League crowns – a new record. The Frenchman’s astute management of a star-studded squad, featuring a rotation policy that enabled key figures to rest at crucial times, was a critical factor in the team hitting peak form at the end of the season.

The future
Following their latest European success, Real Madrid, who are traditionally expected to win every competition they enter, can still pick up three additional trophies this year: the UEFA Super Cup, the Spanish Super Cup and, most importantly, the Club World Cup, where they could again make history, as no team has ever emerged victorious from the tournament two years running. In addition, if they were to secure the global crown in the United Arab Emirates, Los Merengues would equal Barcelona’s haul of three Club World Cups (won in 2009, 2011 and 2015)

Facts and figures

Former stars 
Alfredo Di Stefano, Ferenc Puskas, Ricardo Zamora, Francisco Gento, Ulrich Stielike, Hugo Sanchez, Juan Gomez, Jorge Valdano, Emilio Butragueno, Michel, Ivan Zamorano, Raul, Ronaldo, David Beckham, Zinedine Zidane, Fabio Cannavaro and Iker Casillas.

Key players 
Sergio Ramos, Luka Modric, Toni Kroos, Isco, Gareth Bale, Cristiano Ronaldo and Karim Benzema.

Qualifying statistics 
Real got off to a sluggish start in the Champions League, drawing three times in Group F (twice with Borussia Dortmund and once with Legia Warsaw) and finishing second, but they were unstoppable once they reached the knockout stages. In the Round of 16, the Spanish side comfortably eliminated Napoli, winning 3-1 home and away, while in the quarter-finals they saw off the hefty challenge of Bayern Munich (6-3 on aggregate). In the semi-finals, after defeating rivals Atletico Madrid 3-0 at home, they suffered their sole defeat of the competition, a 2-1 second-leg reverse that did not prevent them from continuing their march to the final. In Cardiff, Zidane’s players tore down Juventus’ defensive wall, which had only conceded three Champions League goals up to that point, but would be breached four times on the night. While Mario Mandzukic briefly gave the Italians hope with a sensational equaliser in the first half, Madrid surged to a 4-1 victory in the second period through goals from Casemiro, Cristiano Ronaldo (his second of the night), and Marco Asensio.

The numbers game
12 – The number of European Cups/Champions Leagues Real Madrid have won, more than any other team. The Spaniards now have a five-trophy advantage over their nearest challengers on the all-time winners’ list, AC Milan.