الماضي
يُعتبر نادي أوكلاند سيتي من الفرق العريقة في كأس العالم للأندية FIFA فقد شارك في سبع نسخ سابقة من البطولة، رغم أن النادي تأسس عام 2004، وقد حافظ على ظهوره في هذا المسرح الكروي الدولي رغم أنه فريق شبه محترف. النتيجة الأفضل للنادي في البطولة كان دون شكّ في المغرب 2014 عندما فاجأ جميع المتابعين بنيل المركز الثالث. وكاد الفريق أن يواجه ريال مدريد في موقعة النهائي بعد أن أجبر بطل أمريكا الجنوبية سان لورينزو على حسم نتيجة لقاء نصف النهائي لصالحه في الوقت الإضافي فقط. وفي المشاركات أعوام 2006 و2011 و2012 و2013 و2015 و2016 خاض الفريق مباراة واحدة فقط في كل منها وتلقى الهزيمة على يد بطل اليابان مرتين  وكذلك الأهلي المصري والرجاء البيضاوي المغربي، وفي أبوظبي 2009، حقق الفريق إنجازاً مشرفاً بالفوز على المستضيف الأهلي الإماراتي وبطل أفريقيا تي بي مازيمبي ليحصد المركز الخامس. أما في نسخة اليابان 2016 تقدم على بطل اليابان كاشيما قبل أن يخسر 1-2 ويودع المنافسات.

الحاضر
يُعتبر أوكلاند سيتي الفريق الأفضل أداءاً في نيوزيلندا وأوقيانوسيا في السنوات الأخيرة. فقد حصد أوكلاند لقب بطل أوقيانوسيا للسنة السابعة على التوالي، أما على المستوى المحلي، فقد سيطر على البطولة في الفترة الماضية، لكنه فشل هذا الموسم في الحفاظ على لقب الدوري بعد أن خسره لمصلحة منافسه تيم ويلنجتون. أما في البطولة القارية فقد كان حاله أفضل بكثير حيث حقق الفوز في جميع المباريات على أرضه بدور المجموعات، قبل أن يتفوق على تيفانا من تاهيتي 2-0 في لقائي الذهاب والإياب، أما في النهائي الكبير فقد تفوق بوضوح على منافسه المحلي تيم ويلنجيتون بمجموع المباراتين 5-0 ليتوج باللقب من جديد.

المستقبل
لم يطرأ تغيير كبير على تشكيلة أوكلاند المشاركة في كأس العالم للأندية خلال السنوات الأخيرة، وما من شكّ في أن إدارة الفريق ستستغل خبرة عناصرها في مغامرة الإمارات 2017. وقد حافظ مدرب الفريق رامون تريبوليتكس، المولود في برشلونة، على بعض التأثير الأسباني والأمريكي الجنوبي، في كتيبته. خاصة من خلال المدافع أنخيل بيرلانجا وألبرت رييرا والحارس إينوات زوبكاريا. ويوجد في تشكيلة الفريق مجموعة من أفضل اللاعبين الشباب في الدوري الوطني، بالإضافة إلى أسماء سبق وظهرت مع المنتخب، كما يعزز لاعب جزر سليمان ميكاه ليالافا أداء الفريق.

نجوم سابقون
إيفان فيسيليتش، بين سيجموند، بول أورلوفيتش، كيرين جوردان، مانيل أكسبوسيتو

النجوم الحاليون
ماريو بيلن (مدافع)، جواو موريرا (مهاجم)، ميكاه ليالافا (لاعب وسط) أنخيل بيرلانجا (مدافع)

إحصائيات التأهل
خلال خوضه منافسات البطولة القارية، تصدر الفريق ترتيب المجموعة الثالثة بالعلامة الكاملة (3 انتصارات) ثم واصل مسيرته بتحقيق أربعة انتصارات جديدة في نصف النهائي والنهائي، وقد سجل لاعبوه خلال كامل المشوار 24 هدفا وتلقت شباكهم هدفا واحدا فقط.

الرقم
9 – يشارك أوكلاند سيتي في كأس العالم للأندية FIFA للمرة التاسعة، وهو ما يُعتبر رقماً قياسياً في تاريخ المسابقة.

The past
Auckland City FC are old hands at the FIFA Club World Cup having competed at more tournaments than other club, even though they were only founded in 2004. And the Navy Blues have constantly held their own on the world stage, despite their semi-professional status. Without doubt the highlight was at Morocco 2014 where the club went on a stunning run before finishing third. Auckland only fell narrowly shy of an unlikely match-up against Real Madrid in the 2014 final having pushed South American champions San Lorenzo to extra time in the semi-final. Appearances in 2006, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015 and 2016 resulted in single match showings with narrow defeats by J.League clubs on four occasions, plus against Egypt’s Al Ahly and Morocco’s Raja Casablanca. Abu Dhabi 2009 proved a breakthrough tournament as the New Zealanders beat both the host representatives, and the champions of Africa to claim fifth place. In 2016, Auckland City took the lead against Kashima Antlers before the J.League heavyweights came back to earn a last-gasp 2-1 win.

The present
Auckland City are by far New Zealand and Oceania’s best performing team of the modern era. The Navy Blues were crowned Oceania kings for the seventh consecutive time in May, extending their own global benchmark for any continental cup competition. They did, however, fail to win the New Zealand domestic competition earlier in the year after losing to Team Wellington in the championship decider. Auckland City’s 2017 Oceania campaign was dominant from the outset. After winning all their group games on home soil, Auckland defeated Tahiti’s AS Tefana 2-0 both home and away in the semi-final. They then claimed a confident 5-0 aggregate win over compatriots Team Wellington in the final.

The future
Auckland’s squad has remained partly unchanged over the course of their current seven-year run at the Club World Cup, and those experienced players – plus a host of fresh personnel – should stand the side in good stead at UAE 2017. Their experienced Barcelona-born coach Ramon Tribulietx has constantly maintained a degree of Spanish and Latin influence in the side, most notably through defender Angel Berlanga and midfielder Albert Riera, as well as, more recently, goalkeeper Enaut Zubikarai. Auckland boast a handful of the national league’s finest young local players plus a handful of former or current All Whites, while dynamic Solomon Islands midfielder Micah Lea’alafa adds some Pacific Islands’ flair.

Facts and figures
Former stars 
Ben Sigmund, Paul Urlovic, Keryn Jordan, Manel Exposito, Albert Riera, Ivan Vicelich

Key players 
Ivan Vicelich (defender), Mario Bilen (defender), Joao Moreira (forward), Micah Lea’alafa (midfielder), Angel Berlanga (defender)

Qualifying statistics 
Auckland City displayed their defensive excellence throughout the campaign by going six matches without conceding a goal, with their rearguard breached just once in the opening game.

The numbers game 
9
 – Auckland City are featuring in a record ninth FIFA Club World Cup.