"فلتستمتعوا بأفضل رأس في أوروبا بعد رأس تشيرشيل"، تلك كانت الطريقة التي تم بها الإعلان في ستوكهولم عن المباراة الودية التي جمعت بين أسبانيا والسويد سنة 1951. الحديث هنا طبعاً عن رأس تيلمو زاراونانديا مونتويا، مهاجم أتلتيك بيلباو، الذي أصبح أسطورة في أسبانيا بفضل عدد الأهداف التي سجلها في مسيرته الكروية، وخصوصاً بالضربات الرأسية، التي كان مختصاً فيها. لكن هدفاً واحداً بالقدم كان كافيا ليجعله أسطورة، لأننا حين نتحدث عن "هدف زارا" تستحضر الجماهير الأسبانية واحداً بالتحديد من أهدافه الـ 350.

نتحدث عن الهدف الذي سجله في ملعب الماراكانا في مرمى المنتخب الإنجليزي في آخر مباراة لمرحلة المجموعات في كأس العالم البرازيل 1950 FIFA. وسجل الهدف بتسديدة من اللمسة الأولى بكرة دائرية خدعت الحارس الإنجليزي بيرت ويليامز وحسمت المباراة بنتيجة 1-0 أمام "إنجلترا الغادرة" كما كانت تطلق عليها وسائل الإعلام آنذاك. وبذاك الهدف دخلت أسبانيا دور المجموعات الأخير المشكل من أربعة منتخبات والذي سيحدد فيما بعد الفائز باللقب (كأس العالم بالماراكانا) حيث احتلت أسبانيا مرتبة رابعة مشرفة، وهي المرتبة التي ظلت لسنوات طويلة أفضل إنجازات المنتخب في كأس العالم.

وسيقدم زارا سنوات بعد ذلك روايته حول ذلك الهدف قائلاً: "تقدم جابرييل ألونسو بالكرة من الخلف حتى اقترب من باسورا فمرر كرة طويلة. وصلت الكرة لجاينزا الذي مررها بالرأس إلى الوسط، فتركها إيجوا تمر، ومع فشل أحد المدافعين الإنجليز في إبعادها وصلت الكرة إلي وسددتها." لقد سرد الهدف بكل سلاسة، هدف كان قد رسم صورته الصحفي ماتياس براتس على أمواج الإذاعة بكلمات ملحمية لا تنمحي من الذاكرة الأسبانية في وقت لم يكن هناك بعد بث تلفزيوني مباشر.

لكن يبقى هذا الهدف واحداً فقط من سجل حافل بالأهداف على امتداد مسيرة اللاعب، السابع بين عشرة إخوة لم يكن أبوهم عاشقاً لكرة القدم.

وكان تيلميتو، يعرف بخوفه الشديد في صغره حيث قال عن نفسه "لطالما كنت خجولاً ومنكمشاً، حتى وأنا ألعب كنت كذلك." وبدأ اللعب في فريق حيه، قبل أن تلتقطه مبكراً عيون أتلتيك الذي كان يبحث عن إعادة بناء فريقه بعد الحرب الأهلية ولم يندم أتلتيك أبداً على التعاقد مع هذا اللاعب. ففي مباراته الأولى أمام فالنسيا في البطولة الأسبانية سجل زارا هدفين كانا مقدمة لقائمة طويلة من الأهداف...

أعظم الهدافين
هو الهداف التاريخي للبطولة الأسبانية حتى الآن بأهدافه الـ251، رغم أن الفرق المشاركة آنذاك لم تكن تتعدى 14 أو 16 فريقاً. كما أنه أكثر لاعب فاز بلقب هداف البطولة، حيث حاز عليه ست مرات. وصمد رقمه القياسي بتسجيله 38 هدفاً في موسم 1950-1951 لأكثر من 50 سنة، قبل أن يعادله هيوجو سانشيز، ويأتي بعده كريستيانو رونالدو وليونيل ميسي ليحطما ذلك الرقم الذي استطاع زارا تسجيله في 30 مباراة فقط.

وتحدث أوريوندو الذي شكل بجانب زارا وفينانسيو وبانيزو وجاينزا واحداً من أفضل خطوط الهجوم على مر تاريخ أسود بيلباو، عن طريقة لعب زارا واصفاً إياها بكل بساطة "كان عليك فقط أن ترسل الكرة إلى الأمام لأننا كنا متيقنين أنه سيجد طريقه إليها وسيتمكن من وضعها في الشباك."

وحملت نهاية الكأس التي فازوا بها عام 1945 واحدة من أسوء ذكرياته الكروية: حين تعرض للطرد للمرة الأولى والوحيدة في مشواره الكروي. وحسب روايته للأحداث فإن السبب كان "سوء فهم" من طرف الحكم الذي رأى في "ممازحة" لاعب لآخر اعتداءاً. قبل أن يسجل إيريوندو لحسن الحظ هدفاً سيجعل دموع الغضب في أعين زارا تتحول إلى دموع فرح بعد الفوز بنتيجة 3-2 على فالنسيا.

وقرر زارا الرحيل عن أتلتيك بلباو بعد 15 سنة قضاها مدافعا عن ألوان الفريق بأهدافه، حيث فضل ترك مكانه للأجيال الصاعدة، ليواصل اللعب دون مقابل في دوري الدرجة الثانية لسنوات أخرى.

ابتعد زارا فيما بعد عن عالم كرة القدم الإحترافية، ليتفرغ لأعمال أخرى، حيث افتتح محلاً لبيع الملابس والأدوات الرياضية ثم استثمر فيما بعد في مطعم، غير أنه استمر في اللعب من حين لآخر في المباريات الخيرية.

ومما يثير الانتباه أن لاعبا من طينته لم يلقى التكريم الذي يليق به من جمهوره إلا بعد 42 سنة، رغم أن عقده الأخير مع أتلتيك كان ينص على تكريمه بعد اعتزاله، وهو التكريم الذي لم يتم إلا في سنة 1997 في مباراة جمعت بين فريقه وفريق مكون من لاعبي البطولة الأسبانية. ومن بين من حضروا ذاك الموعد الكروي كان هناك بيرت ويليامز، الحارس الإنجليزي الذي كان طرفاً في أهم لحظة في حياته حين سجل عليه هدفه الأسطوري في الماراكانا...

وتوفي زارا بسكتة قلبية في 23 فبراير/شباط 2006 عن عمر يناهز 85 سنة.

When the stadium announcer in Stockholm introduced the friendly match between Spain and Sweden in 1951 with the words: "Take a look at the second-best head in Europe after Churchill", it was clear to everyone present that Telmo Zarraonandia Montoya was the subject in question.

The former Athletic Bilbao forward still retains iconic status in Spanish football due to the astonishing number of goals, especially headers, he scored throughout his career. However, one strike in particular, this time with his foot, was enough to secure him a lifetime of hero worship. Mention 'Zarra's goal' to any Spain fan and they will instantly know which of the more than 350 he scored is being referred to.

The famed goal was Zarra's first-time dink over England goalkeeper Bert Williams in Spain's final group game at the 1950 FIFA World Cup™ in Brazil. The 1-0 victory at the Estadio do Maracana over the 'Perfidious Albion', as England were dubbed in the media at the time, helped the Iberians into the four-team final round, which included the famous title-decider between Uruguay and Brazil. Spain finished a respectable fourth, which was their highest placing for many years at a FIFA World Cup.

Years later, Zarra gave his version of events: "Gabriel Alonso burst forward from the back and when he approached [Estanislao] Basora, he crossed towards the back post. It went to Gainza, who headed it back across goal. [Silvestre] Igoa let it go past him and an English defender couldn't hook it clear. I was running in and just hit it."

His description is rather more modest than the eulogising commentary of Matias Prats, who conveyed the action for the Spanish population on radio, with live television broadcasts unavailable at the time.

That Zarra should score such an important goal is all the more striking when set against the backdrop of his childhood. The seventh of ten siblings, Zarra, whose railwayman father disapproved of the game, was known as 'scared little Temo'. "I've always been very shy and timid - even on the pitch," the former forward once said.

He started out playing in his neighbourhood team, but was soon scouted by Athletic Bilbao, who were looking for players to rebuild their side following the civil war. It turned out to be an inspired signing, as Zarra netted a brace on his league debut against Valencia, setting the tone for the remainder of his career.

Goal machine
Zarra's total of 251 league goals, scored when there were only either 14 or 16 participating teams, still stands as the record tally in the Spanish top flight. Furthermore, he still holds the honour of finishing as top scorer most frequently, having won the pichichi on six occasions.

His incredible feat of 38 goals in the 1950/51 campaign was the single-season best mark for over 50 years. Only Hugo Sanchez managed to equal it, before Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi overtook him recently. It should be noted, however, that Zarra only needed 30 games to rack up his total.

Rafael Iriondo, who, alongside Zarra, Venancio Perez, Jose Luis Panizo and Agustin Gainza, formed part of one of the most devastating front lines in Bilbao's 100 year-plus history, described playing with Zarra thus: "You could just hit the ball forward because you knew he'd be there and would score".

Somewhat paradoxically, Bilbao's triumph in the 1945 Spanish Cup final also marked one of the lowest points of Zarra's playing days, as he was sent off for the only time in his career. Zarra called the moment a "misunderstanding", after the referee interpreted a "joking" gesture as one of aggression. A goal from Iriondo eased his pain considerably, earning Los Leones a 3-2 victory over Valencia.

In 1955, 15 years after joining the club, Zarra decided to make way for younger players to have their chance to shine. He continued playing, without payment, in the second division for a further two years.

After hanging up his boots for good, Zarra moved into the business world, setting up a sports shop and a restaurant, although he still took part in benefit matches from time to time to raise money for various charities.

Given the manner in which Zarra is revered in Bilbao, it is curious that the testimonial promised to him in his final contract with the club was not played until 1997. That match between Bilbao and a select league 11 included, among other famous faces, Bert Williams, the English goalkeeper who conceded the now mythical goal in the Maracana all those years ago.

Zarra passed away aged 85 following a heart attack on 23 February 2006.