صخرة، مخلص لعمله، كمالي: دينو زوف هو أحد أعظم حراس المرمى الذين عرفهم العالم. تتحدّث الحقائق عن نفسها: كان ضمن تشكيلة بلاده في أربع نسخات في كأس العالم FIFA، فخاض ثلاث نهائيات وأحرز اللقب في أسبانيا 1982، مثّل إيطاليا 111 مرة ويحمل الرقم القياسي بعدم دخول أي هدف في مرماه طيلة 1،142 دقيقة.

لم يكتسب ابن احد المزارعين انجازاته بسهولة وقال زوف في احدى المراّت: "كلّ ما امتلكته أتى عن طريق العمل الجاد". أخرجت كرة القدم صبي القرية من منطقة شمال شرق إيطاليا الزراعية؛ ومع ذلك لم يتخلّ البلد الفخور والبراغماتي عن الحارس زوف.

بدايات خجولة
كان للنشوء في احدى المناطق القريبة من الأمبراطورية النمسوية-المجرية مزاياه وليس أقلّها الغذاء. عندما رفضه انتر ميلان ويوفنتوس وهو بعمر 14 سنة – بحجة انه قصير – امتلكت جدة زوف أديلايد الجواب: إطعامه البيض.

مرّت خمس سنوات وأعطى زوف من خلال ادائه مع فريق قريته ماريانيزي الكثير من الأفكار لكشافة أودينيزي. زاد طوله 33 سم وأصبح 1،82 م – وهي زيادة أكسبت نادي الدرجة الأولى ثقة إضافية. بعدها، ترك زوف عمله كميكانيكي محرّكات ليوقّع على الأوراق الرسمية. لم تكن بدايته سلسة، فدخل مرماه خمسة أهداف خلال أوّل مباراة ضد فيورنتينا في 24 سبتمبر/أيلول 1961. ثم كان النزول الى الدرجة الثانية للاعب والنادي.

لعب زوف أربع مباريات مع نادي فريولي قبل أن يعيده مانتوفا إلى الدرجة الأولى في الموسم التالي. هنا إنطلقت مسيرته بحقّ. عام 1966 كان مرشحا للانضمام الى صفوف منتخب إيطاليا المشارك في كأس العالم FIFA إلى جانب أنريكو ألبرتوزي، روبرتو أنزولين وبييرلويجي بيتزابالاّ. لكن خلال المسابقة، إختار مدرب أتزوري إدموندو فابري الثلاثة الآخرين، لأنه وكما شرح زوف: "لم يرد أن يُتّهم بالتحيّز لمانتوفا لأنه كان يشجع الأخير".

جاء العزاء عن طريق زوجته أنا-ماريا. عنت الولادة اللاحقة لابنه ماركو قدوم شخصين جديدين إلى حياة زوف عام 1967. كانت السنة التي استقبله فيها نابولي إلى جنوب إيطاليا بمبادلة مع الحارس باندوني و130 مليون لير. نجح نابولي حيث فشل ميلان في ملاقاة سعر مانتوفا. وقال زوف: "أملك ذكريات رائعة في الفترة التي أمضيتها هناك. انها مدينة حيوية".

إنجازات ملحوظة
لعب زوف أوّل مباراة دولية هناك خلال الفوز على بلغاريا 2-صفر في أبريل/نيسان 1968. كان ذلك في ربع نهائي كأس الأمم الأوروبية وبقي مع الفريق في وقت وصلت فيه إيطاليا إلى النهائي بفوزها على يوجوسلافيا في المباراة المعادة.

بداية مستحقّة على الساحة الدولية، تمكّن فقط العظيم باولو مالديني من مجاراتها بعد ثلاثة عقود. ولا حتى مالديني الجميل استطاع تصدّر غلاف مجلة نيوزويك. هذا الشرف الخاص حصل عليه زوف عام 1982، عندما ترك عالم كرة القدم بالطريقة ذاتها التي دخل فيها: مع ميدالية الفائز بكأس العالم.

قام بذلك وهو بعمر الأربعين في كأس العالم FIFA فكانت بمثابة المكافأة على سنوات من التفاني. تخلّل المواسم انتصارات أكثر من الكوارث. هزائم صغيرة مثل خسارة مركزه لألبرتوزي في المكسيك 1970، وعن وصفه "لست في أفضل مستوياتي" في الأرجنتين بعد ثماني سنوات، لا تُقارن مع ستة ألقاب في الدوري أحرزها مع يوفنتوس.

كان زوف في منتصف العمر عندما انتقل من تورينو إلى نابولي. كان التحدّي جديداً للاعب بقي مهتماً في تحديد الأهداف كما كان ينقذها. ربما كان هذا سرّ طول فترة احترافه.

في حالة زوف، أصبح الماضي من التاريخ. ومجرّد محافطته على مستواه حتى المباراة الأخيرة، أبقى على حماسته خلال 570 مباراة في "سيري أ"، 330 منها في سلسلة كاملة مع يوفنتوس. أيام المجد مع يوفنتوس طوال 11 موسماً على ملعب كومونالي.

بالتأكيد، اكد ال"بيانكونيري" ان قيمة العقد التي بلغت 330 مليون لير لانتقاله الى يوفنتوس كانت في محلها. في المقابل، بالإضافة إلى الألقاب الستة في السكويديتو، حمل زوف كأس الإتحاد الأوروبي مرة واحدة و كأس إيطاليا مرتين. الفجوة الوحيدة كانت كأس الأندية الأوروبية البطلة حيث خسر مرتين: أمام أياكس عام 1973 وأمام هامبورج بعدها بسنوات.

الريادة من مقعد البدلاء
شهد النهائي الأخير رحيل زوف الكبير. إعتزل ليصبح مدرباً للحرّاس مع يوفنتوس. لم يكف هذا الأمر. قال زوف: "بالنسبة لي كانت وظيفة توصل إلى حائط مسدود".

لذا تولّى منصب مدرب منتخب إيطاليا الأولمبي قبيل دورة سيول – ونال الإعجاب الكافي لنيل منصب المدرب في يوفنتوس عام 1988. انتصارات في إيطاليا والبطولات الأوروبية بالإضافة إلى مركز ثالث في الدوري، أكّد للنادي صوابية اختياره، رغم ان الاتفاق بين الطرفين استمرّ لمدة سنة واحدة.

التوقّف التالي كان مع لاتسيو. في روما، لعب زوف دور المدرب في اربعة مواسم قبل أن يستلم رئاسة النادي. أشرف على انتقال النسور من العلاقات السيئة في المدينة الأزلية الى شركة عامة محدودة... حتى انه أمضى فترة وجيزة كمدرب موقت عام 1997.

شكَل تعيينه في منصبه التالي تعيينه الذروة بالنسبة اليه: الحلول بدلاً من تشيزاري مالديني مدرباً لمنتخب إيطاليا بعد الظهور الضعيف للأتزوري في فرنسا 1998. ولولا هدف دافيد تريزيجيه الذهبي في نهائي كأس أوروبا 2000، لكان مسؤولاً عن حصد اللقب الأوّل لبلاده منذ أسبانيا 1982.

مع ذلك ووفقاً للصحافة الإيطالية، المركز الثاني هو فقط للخاسرين. إكتوى زوف من الإنتقاد فاعتزل عائداً إلى لاتسيو، مجدداً كمدرب. قادهم إلى المركز الثالث والتأهل إلى دوري أبطال أوروبا، لكنه لم يتمكّن من إرضاء المشجعين الذين استمتعوا بثنائية الدوري والكأس في الموسم السابق. لذلك، عندما بدأ موسم 2001-2002 بهزائم محرجة محلياً وأوروبياً، تحرّكت شاحنة نقل زوف مرة أخرى – محمّلة بالألقاب التي جناها خلال مسيرة رائعة.

A rock; a workaholic; a perfectionist: Dino Zoff is one of the greatest goalkeepers the world has known. The facts speak for themselves: he was part of four FIFA World Cup™ squads, playing in three and emerging a champion at Spain 1982, won 111 caps and holds the record of 1,142 minutes without conceding a goal.

Yet this son of farming stock would not have had it any other way. "All that I have, I have earned through hard work," he once said. Football would take the country boy out of Italy's agricultural northeast; yet the country, proud and pragmatic, never really left Zoff.

Humble beginnings
Growing up in this erstwhile corner of the Austro-Hungarian empire had its advantages, not least the diet. When he was rejected by Inter Milan and Juventus as a 14-year-old - with the time-honoured excuse that he was too small - Zoff's grandmother Adelaide had the answer: to feed him up on eggs.

Five years on and Zoff's displays for his village team, Marianese, were giving the scouts at nearby Udinese food for thought. He had grown 33 centimetres to 1.82 metres - a rise that earned him a leap in faith on the part of the Serie A club. Soon Zoff was leaving his job as a motor mechanic to sign professional forms. He was not, however, a smooth starter and let in five goals on his debut at Fiorentina on 24 September 1961. Demotion beckoned, for player and club.

Zoff had made just four appearances for the Friuli club when Mantova restored him to the top flight the next season. Here his career really did take off. By 1966, he was being considered for Italy's FIFA World Cup squad alongside Enrico Albertosi, Roberto Anzolin and Pierluigi Pizzaballa. In the event, Azzurri coach Edmondo Fabbri selected the latter trio, because, as Zoff explained, "he did not want to be accused of favouritism being a Mantova man himself".

Consolation came in the shapely form of wife Anna-Maria. The subsequent birth of son Marco meant there would be two new arrivals in Zoff's life in 1967. That was the year Napoli welcomed him to the south of Italy in exchange for 130 million lire and goalkeeper Bandoni. The Naples club succeeded where AC Milan, ever reluctant to meet Mantova's price, had failed. "I have great memories of my time there," Zoff said. "It is such a lively city."

Remarkable achievements
A memorable one too, as it turned out. Zoff made his international debut there in the 2-0 win against Bulgaria in April 1968. It was a UEFA European Championship quarter-final and he stayed in the team as Italy reached the Final, where they beat Yugoslavia in a replay.

A worthy start to an international career that only the great Paolo Maldini would eclipse three decades on. Yet not even the photogenic Maldini made the front cover of Newsweek magazine. That particular honour fell to Zoff in 1982, as he bowed out of international football in much the same way he had entered it: with a winner's medal.

That he did so as a 40-year-old in the FIFA World Cup was suitable recompense for his years of dedication. Seasons punctuated more by triumph than by disaster. The small defeats of losing his place to Albertosi at Mexico 1970, of being "not at my best" in Argentina eight years later, were nothing compared with six Italian Championships golds with Juventus.

It was half a lifetime ago that Zoff swapped Turin for Naples. It was a fresh challenge for a player who always seemed as interested in setting goals as he was in saving them. Perhaps this was the secret of his longevity.

In Zoff's case, the past really was history. And the fact that he was only ever as good as his last game allowed him to retain his enthusiasm through 570 Serie A appearances, 330 made in perfect sequence while at Juventus. Halcyon days indeed, those 11 terms at the Stadio Comunale.

Certainly, the Bianconeri got their money's worth out of their 330 million lire signing. In return, as well as the six Scudettos, Zoff picked up the UEFA Cup and two Italian Cups. The one caveat was the UEFA European Cup, where he was twice a loser: against Ajax in 1973 and then Hamburg years later.

Leading from the bench
The latter final was Zoff's farewell to the big time. He retired to become a goalkeeping coach at Juventus. But it was not enough. "As far as I was concerned it was a dead-end job," he said.

So he took the post of coach to Italy's Olympic team ahead of the Seoul Games - and impressed sufficiently to be offered the manager's job back at Juventus in 1988. Victories in the Italian and UEFA Cups, plus a third-place finish in the league, ensured the club would not regret their choice, although the arrangement lasted but a year.

Next stop was Lazio. In Rome, Zoff had four campaigns as coach then assumed the role of president. He oversaw the Eagles' transition from poor relations in the Eternal City to plc... and even had a brief spell as caretaker coach in 1997.

His next appointment was arguably the pinnacle: replacing Cesare Maldini as Italy trainer after the poor showing of the Azzurri at France 1998. And but for David Trezeguet's golden goal in the UEFA EURO 2000 final, he might well have been the man responsible for the country's first international success since Spain 1982.

Yet according to the Italian press, second place was for losers. Stung by the criticism, Zoff retired and returned to Lazio, again as coach. He took them to third position and the UEFA Champions League, yet could not satisfy fans who had feasted on a league and cup double a year earlier. So when the 2001/02 season began with embarrassing defeats at home and in Europe, the Zoff removal vans were again in motion - doubtless laden with the trophies from a wonderful career in the game.