A brief history...
Hailed by their supporters as the kings of Argentine football, River Plate's long and distinguished history marks them out as one of the continent's foremost sides.

Known as Los Millonarios because of their spectacular dealings in the transfer market, River Plate reportedly have some 60,000 members and 15 million fans. They hold a series of impressive records in Argentine football, including most titles (35), most games won, least games lost, most goals scored and least goals conceded. Furthermore, the club has provided more players than any other Argentine side to the country's national team.

River's origins date back to the beginning of the last century, when two rival sides from the Riachuelo dockland area of Buenos Aires - Santa Rosa and Los Rosales - regularly pitted themselves against visiting teams from around the province. Faced with logistical difficulties in coordinating these games, the idea arose to merge the two sides. According to the club's history, it was a Rosales official named Pedro Martínez who uttered the now immortal words "Let's call it River Plate", after seeing the name inscribed on the side of mysterious boxes being handled by sailors during the construction of Dock Nº 3 . And so it was that on 25 May 1901, Club Atlético River Plate officially came into existence.

In its early years the club moved on several occasions until finally settling in the Núñez district, the home of its magnificent Estadio Antonio Vespucio Liberti, or El Monumental, as it is better known. Racing Club is currently being administered by the Blanquiceleste PLC, who took over the running of the club after it declared bankruptcy during the country's financial crisis in 1999.

The club's fiercest rivals are Boca Juniors, with whom they contest the incomparable Superclásico of Argentine football. Such is the colour and passion in these meetings that the derby has become one of the country's most popular tourist spectacles. The first ever meeting between the clubs took place on 24 August 1913, with River Plate taking the honours 2-1.