Spieler des Jahres

Lionel MESSI
  • Lionel MESSI

  • ARG
    Argentinien
  • "Es wird schwierig, das zu toppen, was wir 2015 erreicht haben. Das war ein spektakuläres Jahr", so Lionel Messi nach der letzten Partie eines für den Argentinier unvergesslichen Jahres, das er nun mit seinem fünften FIFA Ballon d'Or krönt. Der Mann mit der Rückennummer zehn des FC Barcelona spielte bei sämtlichen fünf Titelgewinnen Barças in dieser Saison eine Schlüsselrolle. In 2015 erzielte er wettbewerbsübergreifend 48 Tore und war in der Saison 2014/15 der spanischen Meisterschaft zweitbester Torschütze (43 Treffer) und bester Vorlagengeber (21). Außerdem war er mit zehn Treffern gemeinsam mit Cristiano Ronaldo und Neymar bester Torschütze der Champions League und mit sechs Assists auch bester Vorlagengeber. Des Weiteren belegte Messi mit der Albiceleste den zweiten Platz bei der Copa América.

Die Finalisten

CRISTIANO RONALDO
  • CRISTIANO RONALDO

  • POR
    Portugal
  • Nachdem er zum dritten Mal mit dem FIFA Ballon d'Or ausgezeichnet wurde, behielt Cristiano Ronaldo sein hohes Leistungsniveau bei und glänzte als unaufhaltsamer Torjäger. Mit 48 Treffern – seiner bisher besten Torausbeute in Spanien – wurde er als Torschützenkönig der Primera División mit dem Pichichi ausgezeichnet. In der UEFA Champions League schrammte er nur knapp an der Torjägerkrone vorbei. Er erzielte genau wie Lionel Messi zehn Treffer, hatte jedoch weniger Vorlagen auf dem Konto. Ronaldo trug sich ins Goldene Buch von Real Madrid ein, als er sich an die Spitze der ewigen Torjägerliste des Klubs setzte und Vereinslegenden wie Alfredo Di Stefano und Raúl hinter sich ließ. Mit Portugal brachte der Kapitän der Seleção das Quinas das Jahr zu einem erfolgreichen Abschluss. Nach einem holprigen Auftakt qualifizierte er sich mit seinem Nationalteam direkt für die UEFA EURO 2016.
NEYMAR
  • NEYMAR

  • BRA
    Brasilien
  • In seiner zweiten Saison beim FC Barcelona etablierte sich Neymar Jr. als einer der Stützpfeiler des brandgefährlichen Sturmtrios der Katalanen. Im Kielwasser von Lionel Messi war der Brasilianer auf dem Weg zum Triple zweitbester Torjäger des Klubs. Er konnte 39 Treffer in 51 Partien für sich verbuchen. Das erste Jahr hatte sich für ihn aufgrund von Verletzungen kompliziert gestaltet, doch nun war er im Team von Luis Enrique der Spieler mit den drittmeisten Ligaeinsätzen. Nachdem er mit den Azulgrana auch noch den UEFA Superpokal gewonnen hat, erklärte der Spieler, dass sich "seine Spielweise und sein Leben verändert haben" und dass er auch weiterhin mit Barça Geschichte schreiben will.

Die weiteren Kandidaten

  • Sergio AGUERO

  • ARG
    Argentinien
  • Gareth BALE

  • WAL
    Wales
  • Karim BENZEMA

  • FRA
    Frankreich
  • Kevin DE BRUYNE

  • BEL
    Belgien
  • Eden HAZARD

  • BEL
    Belgien
  • Zlatan IBRAHIMOVIC

  • SWE
    Schweden
  • Andres INIESTA

  • ESP
    Spanien
  • Toni KROOS

  • GER
    Deutschland
  • Robert LEWANDOWSKI

  • POL
    Polen
  • Javier MASCHERANO

  • ARG
    Argentinien
  • Thomas MUELLER

  • GER
    Deutschland
  • Manuel NEUER

  • GER
    Deutschland
  • Paul POGBA

  • FRA
    Frankreich
  • Ivan RAKITIC

  • CRO
    Kroatien
  • Arjen ROBBEN

  • NED
    Niederlande
  • James RODRIGUEZ

  • COL
    Kolumbien
  • Alexis SANCHEZ

  • CHI
    Chile
  • Luis SUAREZ

  • URU
    Uruguay
  • Yaya TOURE

  • CIV
    Elfenbeinküste
  • Arturo VIDAL

  • CHI
    Chile

Follow us on

Player of the Year

Lionel MESSI
  • Lionel MESSI

  • ARG
    Argentina
  • “It’s hard to beat what we achieved in 2015, it was spectacular,” said Lionel Messi, after his side had beaten Real Betis in the final game of an unforgettable year for the Argentinian, one he has capped with his fifth FIFA Ballon d’Or. The FC Barcelona No10 was an influential figure in all the titles claimed by Los Culés in 2015. Scorer of 48 goals in all competitions over the course of the calendar year, during the 2014/15 season he was La Liga’s second-highest scorer (43) and leading assist provider (21). He was also the joint leading scorer (ten, along with Cristiano Ronaldo and Neymar) and assist supplier (6) in the season' s Champions League. What’s more, Messi picked up a silver medal with Argentina at the Copa America Chile 2015.

The Finalists

CRISTIANO RONALDO
  • CRISTIANO RONALDO

  • POR
    Portugal
  • After winning the third FIFA Ballon d’Or of his career at the start of 2015,  Cristiano Ronaldo continued to perform at his very best, racking up the goals to end the league season as its highest scorer with 48 in all, his biggest haul in Spain to date. He very nearly ended the UEFA Champions League season as its leading marksmen as well, tying with Lionel Messi on ten goals but serving up fewer assists. Cristiano nevertheless etched his name in the Real Madrid history books by becoming the club’s leading all-time scorer, eclipsing fellow Blanco legends Alfredo Di Stefano and Raul. The Portuguese also enjoyed a productive year on the international front, skippering A Seleçao das Quinas to direct qualification for UEFA EURO 2016, a relief for him and his team-mates following three consecutive appearances in EURO and World Cup play-offs.
NEYMAR
  • NEYMAR

  • BRA
    Brazil
  • Coming into his own in his second season with Barcelona, Neymar consolidated his position as one third of a lethal three-pronged attack. Following the shining example set by Lionel Messi, the Brazilian was his side’s second-highest scorer in their league, Copa del Rey and UEFA Champions League treble-winning campaign, contributing 39 goals in 51 matches. Troubled by injury in his debut year, Neymar was Barça’s third-most used player in the league last season. Now 23, he is keen to continue making history with his club, commenting after their UEFA Super Cup win that he has changed his game and his way of life. A devilish dribbler and deadly finisher, the gifted forward has for the last two years been the star act of a Brazil side that is now looking to rebuild after its FIFA World Cup™ woes on home soil in 2014. 

The other candidates

  • Sergio AGUERO

  • ARG
    Argentina
  • Gareth BALE

  • WAL
    Wales
  • Karim BENZEMA

  • FRA
    France
  • Kevin DE BRUYNE

  • BEL
    Belgium
  • Eden HAZARD

  • BEL
    Belgium
  • Zlatan IBRAHIMOVIC

  • SWE
    Sweden
  • Andres INIESTA

  • ESP
    Spain
  • Toni KROOS

  • GER
    Germany
  • Robert LEWANDOWSKI

  • POL
    Poland
  • Javier MASCHERANO

  • ARG
    Argentina
  • Thomas MUELLER

  • GER
    Germany
  • Manuel NEUER

  • GER
    Germany
  • Paul POGBA

  • FRA
    France
  • Ivan RAKITIC

  • CRO
    Croatia
  • Arjen ROBBEN

  • NED
    Netherlands
  • James RODRIGUEZ

  • COL
    Colombia
  • Alexis SANCHEZ

  • CHI
    Chile
  • Luis SUAREZ

  • URU
    Uruguay
  • Yaya TOURE

  • CIV
    Côte d'Ivoire
  • Arturo VIDAL

  • CHI
    Chile