Football in Senegal
Football in Senegal has experienced considerable growth in recent years. The domestic championship comprises three national divisions and competitions for women and youngsters in various age categories. In addition, cup competitions (senior, youth and women), a tournament for regional youth teams, and a regional U-15 championship are also organised. The Senegal national team has taken part in the final competition of the African Cup of Nations eight times (1965, 1968, 1986, 1990, 1992, 1994, 2000 and 2002) and reached the Final itself in 2002. Other notable successes include being voted African team of the year in 2002, reaching the quarter-finals of the 2002 FIFA World Cup Korea/ Japan? (in their first ever appearance at the final competition) and winning the FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking «Mover of the Year» award for 2002. Many players play for top European clubs. The best-known include El-Hadji Diouf (Liverpool, African Player of the Year 2001 and 2002), Tony Mario Sylva (AS Monaco, African Goalkeeper of the Year 2002) and Pape Bouba Diop (Lens).
The second Goal project
Senegal's first project (association headquarters), which was opened in the summer of 2006, was the 100th in the history of the Goal Programme. These headquarters were supplemented by a national technical centre after the Goal Bureau approved a proposal on 3 December 2006. The prime objective of this technical centre will be to implement long-term youth development programmes. The Senegalese government has confirmed that it will donate the land. The total cost of the centre will be all but covered by the association's standard Goal payment, whereas the maintenance costs will be covered by the annual payment from the FIFA Financial Assistance Programme.  
Use of FAP funds
Financing of Goal project
National technical centre in Toubab Dialao
Project approved on
3 December 2006
Financed by
Goal USD 400,000 FAP USD 50,000 Total cost USD 450,000