Football in Nigeria
Nigeria are one of the leading lights in African football. They have reached three FIFA World Cup final competitions (1994, 1998, 2002) but despite impressing many with their football, they have never progressed beyond the round of 16. Nigerian football celebrated its greatest success on foreign shores, with the Nigerian Olympic team securing the Gold medal at the Olympic Football Tournament in Atlanta in 1996. They have also participated at 12 African Cups of Nations, claiming the title twice (1980 and 1994). An impressive list of honours is completed by triumphs at the FIFA U-17 World Youth Championship in 1985 and 1993, but the U-20 team has also given the country great pleasure. Nigeria hosted the FIFA World Youth Championship in 1999, while the country has also been a pioneer for women's football in Africa. The Nigerian ladies' team won the African Women Championship in 1998, 2000 and 2002, and participated in the FIFA Women's World Cup finals in 1991, 1995 and 1999. Countless top players have emerged from Nigeria. Rashid Yekini (1993 African Player of the Year), Jay-Jay Okocha and Nwankwo Kanu (1996/1999 African Player of the Year) are just three of the players who have taken Nigerian football to the world. All three players have been crucial to their club's fortunes, whether in Portugal, Germany, England, Italy, France or the Netherlands.
The second Goal project
Six years after being awarded their first Goal project allowing them to construct a national technical centre in Abuja, the Nigeria Football Federation had their second Goal project for the construction of modern administrative headquarters approved on 1 December 2009, thus fulfilling FIFA President Joseph S. Blatter's vision of a House of Football.
Use of FAP funds
Financing of Goal Project
Construction of federation headquarters in Abuja  
Project approved on
1 December 2009  
Financed by
Goal USD 400,000 Association USD 250,000 Total cost USD 650,000