FIFA against discrimination
© Getty Images

FIFA recognises its responsibility to lead the way in abolishing all forms of discrimination in football. Article 3 of the FIFA Statutes states:

Discrimination of any kind against a Country, private person or group of people on account of race, skin colour, ethnic, national or social origin, gender, language, religion, political opinion or any other opinion, wealth, birth or any other status, sexual orientation or any other reason is strictly prohibited and punishable by suspension or expulsion.
Article 3


The FIFA Disciplinary Code, which describes the sanctions incurred as a result of violations of the FIFA Statutes, applies to every match and competition organised by FIFA. Furthermore, the Disciplinary Code must be obeyed by all the associations and their respective members, including clubs, officials, players, match officials as well as any other persons FIFA admits to a match or competition, including spectators.

Since 2002 and following the 2001 Buenos Aires resolution to fight racism , the FIFA Anti-Discrimination Days have taken place at one of FIFA’s competitions every year to raise awareness of the need to abolish racism and other forms of discrimination worldwide. The activities during the FIFA Anti-Discrimination Days include a media briefing, a media release and a special pre-match protocol, at which the team captains read a declaration against discrimination. After the declaration, the teams and referees come together at the centre of the pitch showing a message to demonstrate football’s stance against discrimination. Involving the captains, teams and referees attracts the attention of the spectators in the stadium and on television, and allows FIFA to send an unequivocal message against discrimination.

Past FIFA Anti-Discrimination Days:

Year FIFA Tournaments
2011 FIFA Women's World Cup Germany 2011™ (semi-finals)
2010 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa (quarter-finals)
2009 FIFA Confederations Cup South Africa 2009 (semi-finals)
2008 FIFA Women’s U-20 World Cup Chile 2008 (semi-finals)
2007 FIFA U-20 World Cup Canada 2007 (quarter-finals)
2006 FIFA World Cup Germany 2006 (quarter-finals)
2005 FIFA World Youth Championship Netherlands 2005 (quarter-finals)
2005 FIFA Confederations Cup Germany 2005 (semi-finals)
2004 International Day of Peace, 21 September 2004
2003 FIFA Confederations Cup France 2003 (semi-finals)
2002 FIFA World Cup Korea and Japan 2002 (semi-finals)