Four women are candidates to be elected as the 25th member of the FIFA Executive Committee at the FIFA Congress to be held in Mauritius on 30 and 31 May 2013. The mandate will be for a period of four years.

In the framework of the FIFA reform process, and following a proposal made by the FIFA President, Joseph S. Blatter, at the 2011 Congress in Zurich, a revision of the FIFA Statutes was approved by a vote taken at the 2012 Congress in Budapest for an additional Executive Committee member, a woman, to be appointed.

Each confederation had a deadline of 31 January 2013 to propose a female candidate.

Four confederations have proposed a candidate for the election at this year’s FIFA Congress:

AFC: Moya Dodd
CAF: Lydia Nsekera
CONCACAF: Sonia Bien-Aime
OFC: Paula Kearns

Lydia Nsekera, the President of the Burundi Football Association and a member of the Committee for Women’s Football and the FIFA Women’s World Cup™ and of the Organising Committee for the Olympic Football Tournaments, has been the co-opted member of the FIFA Executive Committee since the Congress in 2012.